SA’s driving demerit system delayed – The new plans and start dates

SA’s driving demerit system delayed – The new plans and start dates
Consumer Education Homepage - News Learning Portal

The Minister for Transport, Fikile Mbalula has announced that the implementation of South Africa’s Driving Demerit System by The Administrative Adjudication of Road Traffic Offences (Aarto) Act has been delayed. Instead of an initiation date of 1st July 2021, the system will be rolled out in stages.

As reported by Business Tech, in an original article posted on 1st July, the rollout stages are as follows:

Phase Dates Description
Phase 1 1 July 2021 –
30 September 2021
  • Establishment of 7 Aarto Service Outlets.
  • The start of the processing of Aarto elective options in Issuing Authorities & Aarto Service Outlets.
  • Deepen nationwide Aarto awareness.
Phase 2 1 October 2021 –
31 December 2021
  • Implementation of Aarto in 67 Local & Metros.
  • 18 Aarto Service Outlets will also be established.
  • Aarto adjudication process shall also commence.
  • The Appeals Tribunal will become functional.
Phase 3 1 January 2022 –
30 June 2022
  • Introduction of Aarto in the remaining proclaimed 144 Local Municipal Areas
Phase 4 1 July 2022
  • Introduction of the Points Demerit System on 01 July 2022.
  • Phasing in of the Rehabilitation program.
  • 20 self-service kiosks will also be established.

Table courtesy of Business Tech

Read the full Business Tech article for more information.

Go to Business Tech

More on the motor industry – Back To The Future: Driverless Cars Are Coming